TWENTY88 – TWENTY88 Review

TWENTY88 Album Cover

Release Date: April 1, 2016

Track Listing

  1. Déjà vu
  2. Selfish
  3. On The Way
  4. Push It
  5. 2 Minute Warning feat. Detail & K-Ci & JoJo
  6. Talk Show
  7. Memories Faded
  8. London Bridge


TWENTY88 are a group consisting of rapper Big Sean and singer-songwriter Jhene Aiko. The L.A. based songstress and Detroit based rapper previously collaborated on Sean’s tracks Beware (from his second album Hall of Fame) and I Know (from his third album Dark Sky Paradise).

Their self-titled debut EP tells the story of the high and lows of a relationship including conflict, love and sex. It also features guest appearances from K-Ci & JoJo and artist/producer Detail.The sound of TWENTY88 is a mix of 70’s Rock and Soul, 90’s R&B incorporated with elements of ambient, trap and neo-soul. It makes for a rather interesting blend of mellowness that is free of the trappings of the typical braggadocious verses from the rapper and diva notes from the vocalist.

In fact there is a very nice chemistry between the members of this group and their playful exchanges allow each person to shine in their own way. Although some may find one half of the pairing grabs the spotlight a little more than the other. It does become a little obvious after a few spins.

At 31 minutes this EP doesn’t drag on or outstay its welcome. It’s concise and does have a good flow overall. Tracks to take note of are Deja Vu, On the Way and Talk Show. The last track in the list is the most interesting as it plays out much like a conversation you would see on a daytime program where feuding couples air their dirty laundry. There really isn’t a lot that you can bump in your ride at 11 other than perhaps the track Selfish which is about the only uptempo song on this EP.

TWENTY88 is definitely geared towards those who enjoy the quiet storm format type of music. Much of this also a prime soundtrack for some romantic rendezvous or even straight up sexing. If that’s your thing then this album is for you.



About Greg 962 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.