TWICE – Between 1&2 Review

TWICE Between 1&2 Cover

Release Date: August 26, 2022

Track Listing

  1. Talk That Talk
  2. Queen of Hearts
  3. Basics
  4. Trouble
  5. Brave
  6. Gone
  7. When We Were Kids


TWICE has been an active group in 2022, having released two Japanese albums (#TWICE 4 and Celebrate) and touring the United States as part of their TWICE 4th World Tour ‘III’ concert series.

They also reached a significant milestone in their career, reaching their seventh year of existence. In the world of K-Pop, that usually means it’s time for contract renewal or disbandment. Fans hoped the entire group would sign extensions and keep their success rolling.

On July 12, 2022, it was announced that all nine members of TWICE renewed their contracts with JYP Entertainment. Shortly after, teasers of their eleventh mini-album began appearing on their social media accounts.

On August 26, 2022, Between 1&2 was unleashed upon the world. So what do you get in this new era of TWICE? Going by the lead track, Talk That Talk, it sounds like it’s more of the same goodness they have been dropping since 2019.

Instead of going in some weird direction musically to start the second half of their career, their soundscape only expands slightly in the English-language Queen of Hearts. TWICE dip their toes into the rock-infused power pop pool with excellent results.

On the other hand, Basics has a little freestyle/Miami Bass groove that feels like a continuation of the retro vibe of some of the songs from their previous Korean album, Formula of Love.

Otherwise, it’s business as usual for TWICE. I don’t believe many are yearning for the group to suddenly do an about-face and abandon what has been working for them.

TWICE has refined and perfected its catchy dance-pop brand so much that it isn’t necessary to change musical style. So, even though Between 1&2 can feel like a rehash of previous ideas, it’s still enjoyable.


  • BeatPort Logo