Disclosure – Caracal Review


Release Date: September 25, 2015

Track Listing

  1. Nocturnal (feat. The Weeknd)
  2. Omen (feat. Sam Smith)
  3. Holding On (feat. Gregory Porter)
  4. Hourglass (feat. Lion Babe)
  5. Willing and Able (feat. Kwabs)
  6. Magnets (feat. Lorde)
  7. Jaded
  8. Good Intentions (feat. Miguel)
  9. Superego (feat. Nao)
  10. Echoes
  11. Masterpiece (feat. Jordan Rakei)


Caracal is the second studio album form British DJ duo Disclosure. It features the singles Holding On, Omen and Jaded and the promotional songs Bang That, Willing and Able, Hourglass and Magnets.

Following up on their debut album Settle, Caracal is another grouping of collaborations with various artists who bring their own flavor to Disclosure’s brand of dance music.

The songs on here run through a gambit of genres including House, U.K. Garage, Synth Pop and R&B. Of course the singles mentioned above are the go to tracks as they are the most radio friendly tunes on the album. Of that batch Omen (feat. Sam Smith) and Magnets (feat. Lorde) are the ones that grab your attention immediately.

Omen in particular is a very nice slice of mid-tempo Funk/R&B that should please many who are fond of Sam Smith and/or that particular style of music.

Of the album cuts, the opening track Nocturnal (feat. The Weeknd) is one of the many standouts. Nocturnal is a perfect blend of the Weeknd’s Neo-Soul and Disclosure’s take on dance pop.

Continuing along the same path is Superego (feat. Nao) which has a U.K. Soul type of groove. For those who like the Garage (or Garridge as the Brits say) there is the track Echoes. MJ Cole or Wookie fans may find this to be something to their liking.

The end result of Caracal is a collection of soulful tracks catering to the more mature listener who wants a little more substance in their dance music beyond the typical, over hyped pounding that the genre can produce.

If that fits your tastes this album is certainly for you. If not, I would still highly recommend giving it a spin.



About Greg 1077 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.