KEN THE 390 – Weekend Review


Release Date: June 17, 2015

Track Listing

  1. Clap
  2. Like This Like That
  3. Weekend Funk
  4. Now
  5. Go DJ!!
  6. Take It EZ
  7. Bangin –Weekend Classic Edition-
  8. Chimpanzee
  9. My Girl
  10. What About
  11. Ayo
  12. Pop feat. Shun.Sway.Klooz


Takeshi Sakuma is better known as KEN THE 390, a Japanese Hip-Hop/R&B artist and one of the founders of the Japanese Hip-Hop label Da.Me.Records.

Weekend is his 8th studio album, and true to the title, it evokes the freedom and relaxation that only weekends can bring. That is unless you’re a shift worker or work in an industry where weekends don’t exist. Then this might be another album to help you as you watch the clock slowly tick by.

Whatever the case, you’ll not get anything other than many potential party jams or head nodders on this album. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that. Sometimes you need something to help you get your groove on.

So those looking for something a bit harder to bump in your rides or your headphones can look elsewhere because you aren’t going to find it here.

With that said, this is some solid Hip-Hop for heads who miss when artists from the genre released albums of fun songs. The videos spread throughout this review are just a taste of what you get from the beginning to end with Weekend. And for the most part, the material presented here is some quality stuff.

The 80’s synth throwback of Now isn’t exactly my cup of tea, but I can see it appealing to those who like that sound. Also, the chipmunk soul of My Girl feels out of place and slows the album’s momentum down. Not that it’s a bad song, but given that the pace is fairly consistent by the time you get to it, it’s almost like someone felt like the brakes had to be hit. After that, it’s a bit inconsistent regarding the flow of tracks, but I’m sure that won’t bother most people.

If what you heard here appeals to your Hip-Hop sensibilities, then Weekend will certainly be a great addition to your music library.

  • BeatPort Logo