EXILE THE SECOND – Born To Be Wild Review


Release Date: March 1, 2017

  2. YEAH!! YEAH!! YEAH!!
  3. Break It Down
  4. 24/7 Cruisin’ feat. LL BROTHERS
  5. Shut up!! Shut up!! Shut up!!
  6. Dirty Secret Remix feat. AKLO
  7. Shelly
  8. Mo Bounce feat. Far East Movement
  9. Going Crazy
  10. Beautiful Angel
  11. Because I Love You
  12. RAY
  13. Step into my party


EXILE THE SECOND (formerly known as THE SECOND from EXILE) returned from their hiatus with their second studio album, BORN TO BE WILD. It features their 2016 singles. YEAH!! YEAH!! YEAH!! Shut up!! Shut up!! Shut up!! WILD WILD WILD and their most recent single from February, SUPER FLY.

If you go by the 2016 single releases from this album, the impression might be that EXILE THE SECOND is taking cues from K-Pop boybands who use high-energy EDM as their musical backdrop. That is rather deceiving.

The songs on Born to Be Wild are much closer to their 2017 release, SUPER FLY. Taking this generation of EXILE members back to the pop-influenced Urban and dance music that was dominant in the organization’s early days. And that is a good thing, given that the EDM-type songs on this album are fairly overproduced and craptacular.

The stronger songs on the album appear in the latter half, including Dirty Secret, Shelly, Beautiful Angel, Ray, and Step Into My Party. Also included in this batch is a cover of Stevie B’s 1990 hit Because I Love You (The Postman Song). Some of you might not be old enough to remember this track, but those who are over a certain age will look back on this track fondly. EXILE THE SECOND do a respectable job with their interpretation and doesn’t stray too far from what made the original so popular.

This album is standard for a male LDH group, so there are not too many surprises or real groundbreaking shifts in musical style. But if you favour the older EXILE sound, you may find this album worth checking out.


  • BeatPort Logo